Blog Post 7: Best Designed Site

This blog post serves as a great moment of reflection in regard to my web use. When I read in the description, “please try to avoid sites like Facebook, Twitter or reddit” I shamefully drew a blank of what other sites I use on the regular. I suppose it’s because my needs on the web are simple — to communicate with others, to complete homework and to occasionally check what’s going on in the world.

I realized, though, that my most popularly used site is one that I often forget that I’m using because of the ease with which I can use it and simultaneously use other sites to do what I have to do — and that’s Pandora.

As I’m sure most are aware, Pandora is a online, personalized radio site that lets users listen for free (with occasional adds between tunes).The layout of the site is simple, which I think is a significant reason why so many people of all ages and web experience are a fan of it. Upon entering the site, the user is asked to sign in to or create an account so the customizing can begin. They can then use the search bar in the top left corner of the page to create a station based on their search for a particular artist, genre or composer.

Screen Shot 2015-04-30 at 12.21.51 PM

Not only are users free to create a handful of stations based on their music preference, they can also use the Music Feed option to see what others are listening to. They can search for friends and connect with others who share the same taste in music.

Screen Shot 2015-04-30 at 12.22.57 PM

Pandora also creates a profile for the user that shows the user activity, the amount of stations they have, their bookmarks, likes, who they’re following and who follows them. Users can see what songs another users has liked, what stations they’ve been listening to and other activity of the like. It serves not only as a means of entertainment, but as a way to connect with others and expand musical horizons.

Screen Shot 2015-04-30 at 12.23.42 PM

Overall, I like the simple and easy-to-navigate layout of the website, I like the way the content is organized and presented to the user, and I like that it serves as a source of entertainment, relaxation, etc. for users without needing much web experience or attention.

One thought on “Blog Post 7: Best Designed Site

  1. I had a very similar reaction when we were told to avoid site like facebook, twitter and reddit. It was a real struggle to come up with other websites that I really use on a regular basis. Low and behold, Pandora is one of my top sites as well. I never even thing about Pandora. And I think that’s exactly why it is designed so well. I just use it without thinking. It works simultaneously with my inherent knowledge of the internet and how it should work.

    When I tried to think of the best designed site, I tried to think of a site that is beautifully designed and is breathtaking, like a great magazine spread. But I guess a big part of what I have learned this semester is a big part of web design is functionality. And Pandora has it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

