Apples to Organges

The task for this week’s blog assignment was to select the best-designed website on the web. To answer that question I did a lot of thinking and a lot of web surfing, and I hope I’m not beating around the bush here, but I found it impossible to choose the best-designed website out there. Websites are built with specific purposes and they are designed to best achieve that purpose, so trying to compare designs of different sites is, in my opinion, like trying to compare apples to oranges. One thing this class opened my eyes to is the vast range of purposes for websites and the nearly limitless design possibilities to achieve those purposes. That makes the task of choosing the best website even harder. One place I looked for an answer was the Awwwards: “the awards that recognize the talent and effort of the best web designers, developers, and agencies in the world.” Their winners are truly exciting to browse through, and a great resource to seek inspiration. The Awwwards base their judging criteria on the four criteria of design, usability, creativity, and content. I agree that these are four of the most important components in website design because they are not mutually exclusive; rather, they are dependent on one another. To dive further into the criteria of design specifically, I believe that great web design follows the some of the same principles we all learned in our elementary art classes: balance, harmony, rhythm, etc. The blog post mentioned not to choose sites like Facebook, Twitter, or Reddit, but I think it’s clear how important design is to the success of these sites, and to any other site in their category. Users follow great design, because as mentioned earlier, all aspects of a website–usability, creativity, content–are dependent on design.

One thought on “Apples to Organges

  1. I agree! I was difficult to choose a website that was the best designed. It’s such a lofty task. I love that you looked at Awwwards. I’m not familiar with that website, but it seems like a really great resource that provides a lot of insight into the world of webdesign.

    Like

Leave a Reply

