PS Magazine: Great Web Design

I’m sure some of you struggled like I did to find the best-designed website on the Internet. I learned, if nothing else, that the majority of the time I spend on the web is split among the same eight websites. After I realized that I didn’t like many of those from a design perspective, I was at a loss of where to go. That’s when I remembered Pacific Standard Magazine. I’ve recently been reading more of its content (it has especially good health reporting if that’s something you’re into), and when I took the time to evaluate its aesthetics, I liked what I saw.

Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 7.52.56 PM
Here’s a screen shot from the homepage.

The home page and the category pages have similar tile designs. This seems to be the new trend for journalism websites. I must admit that I’m not a huge fan, but PS Magazine does it better than others I’ve seen. By using an organized grid, the site avoids chaos like Slate‘s website while keeping things interesting with different size elements. The primary navigation is easy to understand; there’s no section, blog or column names that only regular readers would understand. The secondary hamburger menu appears along the left side of the screen and caters to a niche audience with information about the magazine, the staff, advertising, etc. I like this split because the average user will be able to find what they need right away without having to search for it or getting distracted by information they don’t care about.

Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 7.55.47 PM
An example of how articles appear on PS Magazine’s website

The interior pages that feature articles allow the text to breathe with plenty of white space. A column on the right side features ads as well as links to other articles on the site. Most unique of all, the icons to share articles on social media are fixed along the right edge of the page. This way you can always access them as you continue to scroll.

Overall, the website design is very cohesive and clean. It’s completely responsive therefore the mobile site retains the same organized appearance. It doesn’t have many bells and whistles, but I’ve realized I prefer that to busier websites, especially journalism websites. I’m sure some day I’ll find another website I like better, but for now PS Magazine will have to do.

One thought on “PS Magazine: Great Web Design

  1. I’d never heard of Pacific Standard magazine before you posted this, but I’m now a fan of its site, too.

    One thing I wonder is how a publication could pull off the same design if it didn’t have the visuals. Would those stories not have a place in a display spot? Is there something else Pacific Standard does to satisfy that image requirement?

    Thanks for also bringing up Slate’s website. While I occasionally like the content, the web page gives me a headache.

    Like

Leave a Reply

