The Curse of the Hamburger Menu

I like the way hamburger menus look. They’re simple, out of the way, and (I think) their purpose is clear. They’re a basic navigation tool that, in my opinion, works really well for projects such as the one we were asked to design for the Missourian.

So, here is the website I designed. It features a hamburger menu.

If there’s one thing I learned about designing a website, it’s that I do not have the skills I would like to have to make a website that reflects what I see in my head. For example, this hamburger menu. I swear. I almost threw my computer across the room this hamburger menu was making me so angry.

I think I spent about 7 million hours just trying to make it work in the first place. And it still doesn’t even work 100% properly.

At first I tried to design it just using CSS. Google showed me how to do that. But it wasn’t working. I didn’t take pictures of it (and I should have), but what it would do is I would click those three devilish little lines and it would pop out, but it wouldn’t move all of my material on the web page, it would only move some of it, and to make it even better the menu would be there, but it wouldn’t be there. Meaning I could see it was there when I highlighted the page/when I inspected the element, but it decided it didn’t want to actually be visible. Because it’s a piece of %#!@.

Finally, I decided to try some javascript and it worked better and I cannot tell you how happy I was when my little buddy actually moved and did stuff. I nearly cried tears of joy.

But, like I said, it still doesn’t look quite like it’s supposed to.

Exhibit A (aka what it is supposed to look like):

The "perfect" hamburger menu.
The “perfect” hamburger menu.

Exhibit B (aka not what it is supposed to look like):

Not a perfect hamburger menu.
Not a perfect hamburger menu. Get out of there, little grey box.

Exhibit C (aka also not what it is supposed to look like):

Also not a perfect hamburger menu. Like, I don't even know why.
Also not a perfect hamburger menu. Like, I don’t even know why.

So yeah. The hamburger menu was my area of conflict. I still like it. And I want to perfect it. I will MASTER YOU, HAMBURGER MENU.

…It’s a point of tension.

Leave a Reply

