Blog Post 5: Design drama

I have such an appreciation for the creative mind. Being able to build something out of nothing and make it look visually appealing to the masses has never been my strong point, but to those who do it and do it well- mad props.

I knew I would stumble on the html and css coding for this project, but that’s kind of expected for anyone just venturing into this kind of work. I embraced this and didn’t let myself get discouraged. It’s all a learning process and we’re all in the same boat.

I was discouraged, however, by my struggle of how to approach the creative design of it. I was stumped. I looked to other classmates and favorite websites for inspiration, keeping in mind that I was in the early stages of learning this craft. I couldn’t expect to whip up a crazy complicated but totally awesome looking site.

I want to say that I had a lot of ideas that I really wanted to bring to life. Translating those ideas onto the page was becoming increasingly more and more frustrating because I wasn’t even really sure if they complemented each other like I hoped or imagined. I feel semi-confident in my ability to make the ideas and plans of others a reality, but I’ve come to terms with the fact that my strong suit is not the creative side of things. And that’s okay- the world needs a balance of both kinds of minds.

Going forward, I’m going to push myself to explore outlets that fuel my creative drive. I’ll look for things that are appealing to myself and my peers, pick apart what it is that I like and why I like it, and brainstorm off of those ideas to create my own. My hope is to feel more confident in my creative design abilities and put them to use for our next big project.

One thought on “Blog Post 5: Design drama

  1. Amen.

    I went through the exact same roller coaster of emotions with my project. I am print designer, so I know how to organize content. But because of this, the project had a whole new set of frustrations. I knew exactly how I wanted each page to look. But I didn’t know the code or how to work with the css to make it look that way. I was determined not to let that get me down.

    But it did. I tried this. I tried that. Nothing seemed to turn out exactly how I had imagined it. In my print design, I’m a bit of a perfectionist. It bothered me to my core that I would line things up exactly how I wanted to on my webpage. I did learn a lot from the experience though. Here’s the the next website we built!

    Like

Leave a Reply

