Tracking content on The Riveter

The Riveter Magazine was started by two MU students after they graduated in 2013. The mission of the publication is to provide long form journalism by women for everyone. Although there have been two print issues, the magazine has relied mostly on its website as a content platform. The design aesthetic is fresh and modern, even as the website has changed to accommodate the changing content.

Most recently I noticed the addition of a content tracking system that counts the number of posts per month. This interactive bar graph appears as a second footer on all the pages. At its core, the graph is an unordered list with embedded links. Clicking on one of the bars will redirect to all the posts from the corresponding month.

post list

The element has padding on both sides and an auto margin to ensure it is centered on the page. The CSS styling removed the list-style-type and floated the list elements left. The columns were styled by using the flex-direction declaration with a value of “column. “Each bar is 47 px wide with a maximum height of 144 px. The text is aligned to the center and uses the same sans serif font (PT Sans) and font size (14 px) as the rest of the page.

While I really like this styling, I think it would work best as an element within a single-story website. It’s a very creative display of data and I like the interactivity but I don’t see users relying on this feature as it appears on this site.

3 thoughts on “Tracking content on The Riveter

  1. Hi Adrienne,

    Thanks for the find – I had never seen this online magazine. The CSS element you have picked – the bar graph at the bottom – is not a feature I would personally use on a page. It’s not really clear what it is for until you click it. It’s a little confusing that the months are in reverse order..it took me a while to figure out if I was looking at it correctly. Once I did click, it took me to the archives. In the online world, I don’t remember content by time periods like months. I remember content by its subject. So if I was searching for a story, I’d rather have a feature that categorized the stories by subject. I don’t really remember or care to seek out stories that were from April 2014 (one of the months of the bar charts). I agree, it adds some interactivity to the well-designed site, but I too believe they could use the space for a more usable feature.

    Like

  2. Good observations. I agree that the chronologic order is confusing since it appears opposite of the traditional timeline. Perhaps once they get their print edition up and running they could switch the months to issues. I think readers would be more interested in using the feature that way.

    Like

  3. Adrienne,

    Like you and Kerri, I also had a hard time understanding what the content bar was really for. Why would readers need to know how many posts the magazine did per month? It seems like it could function more as an internal use for the staff instead of for online readers. I also agree with you on the site’s clean and modern aesthetic. A lot of sites these days are using the rectangular/square format on the homepage, so I wasn’t surprised when I saw it on the Riveter’s site too. This design makes the site very visual with photos all throughout the homepage and also functional at the same time, as the images on the site act like as a link to other content on the site.

    Like

Leave a Reply

